Old 05-31-2009, 08:46 PM   #1
Smokin DC-8s are bitchin
 
DC8-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lake county, FL
Posts: 533
Default I cant believe this B.S.!

I tried to log on to my email account at "lycos" which i have been using for 8 years, and i cannot access it w/o paying an annual fee of 20 bucks. Now i understand this new service includes protection features, etc but they didnt notify me in advance of this mandatory upgrade and now holding everything i got stored there hostage unless i pay in advance. Is this legal?
DC8-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 09:30 PM   #2
Setting The Pace
 
fazeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, Va.
Age: 51
Posts: 2,993
Default Re: I cant believe this B.S.!

There's been a lot of hacking going on lately. I had some bogus yahoo and ebay applications showing up and asking for personal and financial information. I wasn't allowed to sign on unless I filled them out. I said screw this. I did a full factory restore and haven't had a problem since.
__________________
Steve
fazeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 09:52 PM   #3
Smokin DC-8s are bitchin
 
DC8-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lake county, FL
Posts: 533
Default Re: I cant believe this B.S.!

Well lycos is asking the same of my wife when she tries to log on to her account also and on a different PC so i believe it may be legit or could lycos site be hacked? I was thinking it could be a technical glitch at lycos maybe, i will try again tomorrow. $ 20 annually isnt much but this is a dirty deal not notifing members in advance. In any case i wont pay, id rather lose all that info i got stored
DC8-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 10:39 PM   #4
Setting The Pace
 
fazeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, Va.
Age: 51
Posts: 2,993
Default Re: I cant believe this B.S.!

I hope it's not a hack job. And I hope you get some satisfaction in contacting lycos. Prior to factory restore, I burned my document files to a cd. No big deal.
__________________
Steve
fazeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 05:29 AM   #5
model collector
 
robertjon5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: I cant believe this B.S.!

well personally if you had no notification of this i would not do this without contacting lycos first. it may not be a hack, but better to lose data then lose all your money from bank or credit card. i have been told never to open/reply to a suspicious mail without checking it out first.
robertjon5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 06:30 AM   #6
Smokin DC-8s are bitchin
 
DC8-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lake county, FL
Posts: 533
Default Re: I cant believe this B.S.!

Well its not mail cuz i cant get that far, after i enter my username and PW a window pops up telling me to please upgrade my service and select a plan and payment methods accepted. They have always offered free basic service and a premium one.Of course they dont have a phone number or a live help section and obviously i cant email them neither...

Last edited by DC8-dude; 06-01-2009 at 06:35 AM.
DC8-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
Copyright © 1998 - 2010, DiecastAircraft.com & Wings900.com - All rights reserved
AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com

© 1997-2006 DiecastAircraftForum.com. This website, the content, the design and the pictures and are intended for public non commercial use, and may be redistributed, freely printed, or electronically reproduced in its complete and unaltered form provided distribution is for private use only. Partial and other distribution means require the permission of Wings900. All rights reserved.